Critical Language study is part of a U.S. government initiative to expand the number of Americans studying and mastering foreign languages that are critical to our national security and prosperity. These critical languages are less commonly taught in U.S. schools, but are essential to America's positive engagement with the world. Foreign Language & Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships allow students to immerse themselves in the study of a critical language whilst being paid to do so.

Critical languages are offered at the University of Kansas through 3 Centers linked to the left of this text or click on the following: CEAS, CLACS & KASC.

Apply for Awards in:

CEAS Languages: Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tibetan, Uyghur.

CLACS Langauges: Guaraní, Haitian Creole, Kaqchikel, K’iche’ Maya,  Moskitu, Portuguese, Quechua.

KASC Languages: Amharic, Arabic, KiSwahili, Somali, Wolof.

Apply for Academic Year 2018-19 Awards for the above languages! (All 3 Centers recieved FLAS funding from the U.S. Department of Education for the next 4 years (2018-2022) and thus will have funding available for all 4 years for students to apply for).


FLAS Info Sessions for AY 2018

  • Mon. 10/22 - Pine Room, KU Union
  • Wed. 11/14 - English Room, KU Union
  • Thurs. 1/31 - English Room, KU Union
  • All sessions run 4:00 - 5:30 pm
Calendar of Events
Late-breaking funding opportunity! KASC has one more summer FLAS fellowship to award (Arabic, Kiswahili, Wolof)! Se…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities