About FLAS 

Each year, the US Department of Education awards Foreign Language Area Studies (FLAS) funding to Area Studies Centers at the University of Kansas. FLAS funds are awarded in a competitive process open to KU and non-KU graduate and advanced undergraduate students to pursue foreign language and area studies for professional purposes.

The FLAS program began with the National Defense Education Act of 1958 and continues today under Title VI of the Higher Education Act of 1965.  With its support, students pursue advanced training in modern, less-commonly-taught foreign languages and either area or international studies.  The program’s flexibility allows students to pursue their own interests in a variety of disciplines including the humanities, the social sciences, STEM fields, and professional programs.  FLAS continues to produce distinguished foreign language and area studies experts whose knowledge enriches government, business, and higher education.

There are two types of FLAS awards: Academic Year and Summer. Most Academic Year FLAS fellowships are used for domestic study at KU, although a semester or full year abroad is also an option. Most Summer FLAS awards are used for study abroad.  However, Summer FLAS can also be used for an on-campus KU language program or an intensive language program at another accredited university in the US.

At KU, 2014-2018 FLAS awards are available for: 

Other African languages available on demand!

All FLAS awards are contingent on federal funding.


FLAS Information Sessions

Date: Monday, November 13, 2017
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: Pine Room, Kansas Union

Date: Thursday, November 30, 2017
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: English Room, Kansas Union

FLAS providing centers at KU


Other KU area studies centers:

Other Useful Links:
KU Office of Study Abroad
FLAS Info From the US Department of Education

We have two FLAS information sessions planned for later this fall. Here are the dates: Date: Monday, November... https://t.co/9bouWBSQFB

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities